Biggest Counties in Kenya, List of Top 10

Biggest counties in Kenya, List of Top 10 is our area of focus in this article. First of all, Kenya has numerous counties that total to 47 in number. They were created after the Referendum elections of the new constitution in 2010. However, most of the citizens do not know which is the smallest or the largest county in Kenya.

Also Read:  Cheapest Taxi Apps in Kenya 2022 Cabs
Largest counties in Kenya

Firstly, counties are geographical units that were created after the amendment of the Constitution of Kenya. Most importantly, the powers are provided in Articles 191 and 192 of the Kenyan constitution. Again, the counties have sub-counties (constituencies) for the election of members of parliament, a Senator, and a women representative. 

Hence, before the 2013 general elections, there were 47 counties whose size/ boundaries were based on the Districts of Kenya. To clarify about the reforms of Kenya’s national administration, the districts were integrated into governments represented by county commissioners. Furthermore, the County governments are responsible for county legislation as stated in article 185 of the Constitution of Kenya.

Also Read:  Top Ten Best Medical Universities in Kenya (Private)

In summary, here are the top 10 largest or biggest counties in Kenya according to geographical size.

Turkana – 77000 Km2

Marsabit – 70961.2 Km2

Wajir – 56, 685.8 Km2

Garissa – 45,720.2 Km2

Tana River – 35,375.8 Km2

Isiolo- 25,336.1 Km2

Kitui – 24, 385 Km2

Kajiado – 21,292.7 Km2

Samburu – 20,182.5 Km2

Narok – 17,921.5 Km2


Next Post

Sub Counties in Baringo County, The List.

Sub Counties in Baringo County, The List, is our topic […]

You May Also Like