Irrigation schemes in Kenya and crops grown pdf List

Irrigation Schemes in Kenya and crops grown pdf List

Today, we shall list the top 10 largest irrigation schemes in Kenya and crops grown (pdf).
Irrigation schemes in Kenya are one of the best agricultural projects that the government has fulfilled in history. This is because they prevail to aid people living in the arid and semi-arid parts of the country.

Irrigation schemes in Kenya and crops grown

There are several irrigation schemes in Kenya. For example, the Ahero irrigation scheme, the Perkerra irrigation scheme, the Hola irrigation scheme, the Bura Irrigation scheme, and many more irrigation schemes in Kenya. Below is a pdf list of some of the irrigation schemes in Kenya and the crops grown in them.

Also Read:  Interesting Facts about Kenya Safari & Economy

Rice is the main cereal crop grown in most of the irrigation schemes in Kenya like the Ahero and Mwea irrigation scheme. The main crops grown in the Perkerra irrigation scheme include onions, chilies, watermelons, pawpaws, cotton, and maize. On the other hand, Maize, Watermelon, Onions, Tomatoes, and cotton are the main crops grown in the Bura Irrigation Scheme.

Also Read:  Uhuru Kenyatta Bodyguard Fake Hands Revealed - PHOTOs

Oldest irrigation scheme in Kenya

The oldest irrigation scheme in Kenya is the Tana River Irrigation Scheme. Tana Irrigation Scheme, launched in 1953, covers an area of 12,020 acres of land.

Largest irrigation scheme in Kenya

Galana-Kulalu is the largest irrigation scheme in Kenya. Certainly, the Galana-Kulalu Irrigation Scheme that covers 400,000 hectares of land, was launched by the government as a Food Security Project in 1996.

Also Read:  Elgeyo Marakwet County Sub Counties, List.

In summary, below is a list of the top 10 irrigation schemes in Kenya.

Irrigation Schemes in Kenya

  1. Galana-Kulalu irrigation scheme. It’s the largest irrigation scheme in Kenya.
  2. Ahero Irrigation Scheme.
  3. Tana Irrigation Scheme.
  4. Bunyala Irrigation Scheme.
  5. West Kano Irrigation Scheme. Also,
  6. Mwea Irrigation Scheme. It’s located in the Central province of Kenya.
  7. Hola Irrigation Scheme.
  8. Perkerra Irrigation Scheme.
  9. Bura Irrigation Scheme.
  10. Katilu Irrigation Scheme. And finally,
  11. Turkana Irrigation Scheme.

Finally, we shall keep you posted on the same page as time goes by.

Next Post

Petroleum Engineering universities in South Africa

Today, we shall answer some of the important questions that […]
Petroleum Engineering Universities in South Africa